Hurricane Sandy- Day 1- Preparation

We’ve heard about Hurricane Sandy for over a week now, but realistically most people have waited until the very last minute.  People are definitely taking this much more seriously than last time when we had no power for days.

I decided that people never learn their lesson about being prepared.  It seemed like no one had anything in stock because there was not enough supplies at the grocery stores to meet the demand.  It was honestly a mad-house on Saturday to find anything.  If it was up to me, I would not have gone, but S had to fly to Yuma for work, so we had to go run and get groceries for his mom, since she does not drive.

  • Costco- 3 trucks full of water cases sold out and pretty much everything else.  Oh well, I can survive on filtered water. Luckily I was able to get gas and put air in my tires in case I have to run for my life!
  • Giant- Basically everything was sold out.  If you are looking for toilet paper, water, and even milk…SOL!  Well, I don’t understand why milk was missing, it’s perishable…duh.
  • CVS- We did a drive-by to see if there was water. Nope, every water bottle, soda, and even beer was completely sold out.  I guess, to decrease the stress…why not drink because most of the liquor shelves in the stores were pretty bare.
  • Home Depot- We went to buy something for S’s house, but ended up finding water, but the guy told us that flashlights, generators, and batteries were out.

My hurricane preparation included:

  1. 24 pack of water (luckily)
  2. Popcorn chips
  3. Almond Butter
  4. Bread
  5. Toast and laughing cow cheese
  6. Chocolate
  7. Lots of candles
  8. Flashlight
  9. A full tank of gas to escape…

It seems like some people are taking this very seriously, while others are just stocking up on snacks and alcohol.  I think I would be in the middle.  I have enough to survive for a few days to hold me out.

Cereal is almost gone, bread gone, milk gone, water gone…Sad day.
This entry was posted in Others and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

