California Quinoa Salad

I am starting a new category and sharing my made-up recipes with everyone. For many of you who know me, when I cook, everything is really good, but A) I don’t follow recipes B) Cooking requires focus and that is hard for me C) Patience is not a virtue for me.

So with that being said, I’ve reinvented recipes to make it fast, easy, and healthy.

This is a spin of a California salad.

Ingredients:

  • Lemon
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Olive Oil
  • Roasted Chicken
  • Sweet Corn
  • Onion
  • Spinach
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Cucumber
  • Avocado
  • Quinoa

Directions:

  1. Cook the Quinoa as directed. I usually do 2 cups. Once it cooked and fluffy, put the pot in the fridge to cool.
  2. Tear up the chicken. I say tear because I’ll buy the roasted chicken from Costco, remove the skin (if you are a lover of eating the skin…Bad!), tear up the meat and put it in the fridge.
  3. The veggie cutting portion- Savoy be careful!
  4. Dice the onion
  5. Half the cherry tomatoes
  6. Chop the spinach
  7. Open the can of sweet corn

Dressing:

This is up to each person’s taste based; I like it with more lemon. If you need more dressing, go for it!

  1. Put 2 teaspoons of salt and pepper at the bottom
  2. Add ¼ cup of Olive Oil as the base
  3. Add 3-4 tablespoons of Balsamic Vinegar
  4. Squeeze 2-3 lemons
  5. If you put it in a clear glass, it’s so pretty because you can see all the layers. Admire it and then mix it all together.

 Assembling:

  1. Find a pretty bowl; I love a clear one so you can see all the colors.
  2. Throw the tomatoes, cucumber, spinach, onion, corn, and chicken first. Then mix it.
  3. Pour the Quinoa in and start stirring to get the veggies and chicken mixed in evenly.
  4. Pour the dressing and toss some more and finally add in the diced avocados.
  5. Cover and refrigerate until the party and serve.

This weekend I had a large party, so I used whole grain macaroni along with the quinoa and it was a hit as well.

Hope you enjoy and it can become your new party dish as well!

FINISHED PRODUCT!!!!

CYMERA_20140529_100331

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

