Just another day in the neighborhood…Until someone asks for your number

One night I was headed to an event and I was really late.  People were already texting me that they were at the location and I was barely leaving my house.

I’m usually late, but even in my world, I was really late, but I had rented 3 red box movies the night before.  I stopped by the grocery store about 5 minutes away from me and that’s when I met G.

I dropped off my movies and walked out of the store focused on my phone.

All of a sudden someone said, I really like your dress.  I didn’t know he was talking to me, so I kept walking, but then he grabbed my arm and that’s when I was like oh he’s talking to me.

He was trying his best to make small talk and I excused myself.  Then he asked if he could take me out for coffee.  I told him no because I have no clue who he is and it’s stranger danger.  He laughed and said to give him a chance. All my friends said this only happens to me and G was extremely bold to do that and I agree, which is why I gave him a chance.

I told him if he could remember my number, he could ask me out and to my surprise he did. Well later I learned he has a photographic memory.

2014-05-30_13.43.07

2014-06-07_09.58.14

He asked me out everyday for almost a month before we went on a first date.  And I’m not going to lie, he was the first person that I had sparks with and our first kiss could not be any more romantic than if it was scripted in a movie.  He was the first person that I let a lot of my walls down for, I actually even called him from my office line once, which I never do.

I had no idea what to expect other than the fact that he was really good looking.  To my surprise, G was not only handsome, but extremely smart and motivated.  He was an electrical engineer focused on power plants and even had his masters and of course he drove a BMW, and owns a side business.  We nickname him Maserati because he is “tired” of his BMW and is buying a new Maserati as his fun car and he has an “everyday” car as well, Karen laughs because everywhere I go, I pick up the same type, even at a grocery store.

Sadly, his intelligence and ambition was his strength and his weakness.  I was at his house and he gave me a tour, when we got to his bedroom, he turned on the lights and panicked.  On his wall, there was a giant whiteboard with formulas everywhere, it was his thinking board.  To me, it was a “Beautiful Mind” moment.  I kidded and said what he would do if I erased it, he said it was like shooting him with a shotgun.

He worked long hours and for me, I don’t need you to see me every day, but when you do promise to see me and I rearrange my schedule for you, don’t break it and he did, not once, but twice for work.

He was also a little too rigid, too disciplined and it would never work with someone like me.  I mean look at his goal for me…to program me?  I told him that it is impossible to develop a code for me, but we can start our date with some binary code 0100001000 and end the night with some Java and lead into C++.  Haha.

Screenshot_2014-06-25-12-29-19

The second it happened, I was so angry at him, I didn’t speak to him for a few days.  That night, I was so upset, I walked out of the house to cool off and then my automatic lock failed, so I had to stay outside for an hour before my best friend could come let me in and I got a bunch of mosquito bites.  This text was what made everything spiral.  And…He made me so mad, I said I was going to become a nun and not go on another date until the end of the 4th quarter. Here is my pretty hilarious rant, to read it click here.

Screenshot_2014-06-17-21-27-13

After 15 calls and a bunch of text messages, I gave him a chance to explain.  I told him what happened and I got locked out, he asked why I didn’t call him. I said, duh I was mad at you.

Screenshot_2014-06-17-23-13-00Screenshot_2014-06-19-07-51-48

After a third chance and a serious conversation, I realized the chemistry was there, but the compatibility was not there and for him work was his priority.  Des was laughing, but I broke up with him saying that we were not a good fit or compatible, and that he was being renamed in my phone as stranger danger and that was the end of G.

This entry was posted in Dating Carousel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just another day in the neighborhood…Until someone asks for your number

  1. Pingback: Becoming a Nun May Not be the BEST Answer | Live, Love, Laugh and Shop

Leave a Reply

