9 Steps to Manage Your Digital Footprint Before You’re Gone

Have you ever wondered what happens to your accounts after you are gone? Yes, it is a completely morbid thought, but admit it, you have all thought about it. What will happen to all your accounts when you die?

Well, they pretty much float out in cyberspace until someone contacts them to close it. All your pictures, banking information, in my case my thoughts via my blog are out on the World Wide Web or stored in a cloud somewhere.

I’m such a planner in every way, shape, and form, I took time to make it easy for my parents to take care of all my assets and accounts in case anything happened. First off, my parents think I worry so much and let’s face it, they probably forgot about my amazing plan for them.

My parents are already going to have so much to deal with that the last thing they need to worry about Facebook, LinkedIn, my bank accounts, and when my bills are due. I do everything online, so I am messy; I leave a digital footprint everywhere I go.

I think most everyone does their banking and manage their bills and accounts online, so it’s safe to say a majority of you can find this helpful.

    1. Have a family meeting to let them know that you are making a list of all accounts for them. Make sure to categorize and it will make their life so much easier when trying to figure out what Alibaba is. Make sure this list is password protected. The worst it to have your list hacked when you are alive.
    2. List the account name, password, and email address affiliated with each account.
    3. List any social media that you are on: Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Pinterest, etc…
    4. List any sites you use to purchase or sell products and services like eBay, Amazon, or Craigslist
    5. List any retailers you have accounts with like Macy’s or Express.
    6. List all services that you have bills for gas, electric, cable, cell phone, etc… That way, they can shut it off immediately.
    7. Create a payment schedule. Most of my bills are paid online through one account, so my parents could see what places have automatic withdrawals: My credit cards, house payment, car payment, etc…
    8. List all your assets. Put together all your bank accounts, IRA, retirement accounts, mutual funds. Of course, you should have beneficiaries listed for all of these, but you want to make sure they get all your hard earned cash and not the state!
    9. Assign a person responsible for your FB. I sent Lisa this and asked her to continue my page once I’m gone. She agreed because she’s my best friend.

image

And, if something happens, I told Savoy she better come to my funeral even though she scared of open casket. I told her if she does not come, I will know high in the sky and I will come back and haunt her every night. Boo!

In all reality, I hope that this gives you a little something to think about. Back in our parent’s day, they didn’t have to worry about this, but we do. And no one wants to think of this topic, but welcome to adulthood.

This entry was posted in Budgeting and Finances and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 9 Steps to Manage Your Digital Footprint Before You’re Gone

  1. Pingback: 5 Reasons You Need a Living Will at Any Age | Live, Laugh Love, and Shop

Leave a Reply

