4 Steps to Create a Layered Cake

Sarah and I have bonded a lot over the past year and now that her birthday is coming up I wanted to make her something special.  Of course, cupcakes are always a crowd-pleaser, but this time for this special girl, I wanted to bake my first cake ever.  Yes, ever.  I think everyone is shocked because I cook, but honestly I’m a HORRIBLE baker.

This was a big project and I didn’t want to mess it up. So I did research because I heard layering a cake is really hard to do.

Here is a great step-by-step that I read up on.

  1. Bake the cake.  I baked it at 275 degrees and it came out flat.  I actually did not have to cut it at all!  And right when I got it from the oven, I pressed the cake down as well.
  2. Let the cake cool and wrap it in saran wrap to place in the freezer overnight.
  3. Take the cake out and put a light layer of frosting in between the layers and start building.  Mine was 3 layers (2 red velvet and 1 chocolate).  It was supposed to have one more, but you will see in the picture, it failed so I made another cake from it.
  4. Once you have all the layers placed, go ahead and start frosting the outside.  It’s simple and easy and trust me, when you cut in the cake, it’s so pretty.

Below is Sarah’s cakes. The little one on the end was my “oooopppssieee” cake that actually ended up being everyone’s favorite!

11102847_10100321268667101_3057351454701564081_o

Here is a better picture of the cake.

11128511_10100324705883891_665889230556339045_o

This entry was posted in How-To's & DIY Projects, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

